GSoC Mid-Term

To provide DXF support to DR. GEO under GNU is what my Google Summer of code 2014 is all about.

On 22nd of april Google summer of code’2014 results got announced. It was around 12:30 am if I remember exactly, my happiness had no limits when I read out the mail sent by google to me involving the greetings and welcome  to me regarding my selection in GSoC this year. I wanted to share it with as many people as I could but there was no one around me at that time. So I tried calling one or two friends of mine on phone. Finally, I went to a nearby room in my hostel to share my happy moments. Next day all gsocers went  to Rai sir. Rai sir(my role model), he congratulated all of us and gave us a google pen each and many stickers of different open source organizations being selected in the program. 🙂

Program had to be started from 19th may and before that it was community bonding period which involved bonding with the mentors and the community. Due to my final exam of the graduation I got somewhat delayed in my coding schedule. But finally after the last exam of my degree on 23rd may I started devoting my time to the program.

In the community bonding period I submitted a few patches regarding the bugs which I got while compiling the source code of Dr. Geo. Bugs were regarding the deprecated code. One can visit my daily logs to know about them more.

Then after the coding period started, i.e. from19th may I started devoting my maximum time to the program. I decided to stay in the hostel for the two months june and july and thought of visiting my tcc daily. But due to the six week and six month training, there had been too much rush(rush has always been one of my weaknesses as I feel uncomfortable to work in crowded places.) and moreover bad internet connection also was one of the main reasons. Then after my final vivas I decided to stay at hostel and to work from there. But even then my output was not upto the mark. Then finally I decided to go to CC lab daily and started working from there. Though this idea stroke my mind a bit late. But finally I find a near to perfect place for me to work and I finished my pending milestone there only. My main milestones before the mid term evaluations were:

http://www.google-melange.com/gsoc/proposal/public/google/gsoc2014/googlemelangeappspotcom/5629499534213120

  • Referring the DXF reference and implementing the functions for the HEADER Class.
  • To implement the classes and the block sections.
  • To implement tables sections.
  • To add block section and object section.
  • To implement the functions for all the entities supported by the Dr. Geo.

For the first milestone I started studying the the DXF reference by Autocad and its specifications. I have added this code on my github account which involves a basic dxf file involving a header sections and other section for a point.

https://github.com/DevinderKaur

And as far as my commits regarding the other milestones are concerned, one can visit:

http://git.savannah.gnu.org/cgit/dr-geo.git

I have used drgeo’s code under geo directory and has mainly made changes in the drgeo_latex.cc and drgeo_latex.h files for the read support.

As far as the read support is concerned I have discussed it with my mentors and I have concluded that there could be two approaches to accomplish this task:

  • dxflib-3.3.4
  • Using LIbDXFrw

From tomorrow onwards I ll be working on my post mid term tasks and will be reporting about them here on my blog. 🙂

 

 

Leave a comment